Finding Time for NaNoWriMo and Everything Else

For as long as I have been a blogger, I have also been a participant of National Novel Writing Month. In my first year of blogging about World of Warcraft, I was introduced to the concept of NaNoWriMo. I lavished in the opportunity to lick my fledgling writing chops and tried my hand at a novel for the first time; the piece that I attempted was an origin story for my MMORPG characters set in the world of World of Warcraft. I kept a decent pace a week in, but eventually fizzled out because of something interesting that happened. The economy crashed, and I was laid off from my job; by suddenly having all the free time in the world to write, I stopped writing.

Since then, I’ve finished first drafts for three different novels, and have sown the seeds to finish out a fourth. I’ve been through some intense non-writing experiences in my life during NaNoWriMo, including unemployment, the passing of my grandmother, and this year, I will be getting married to top everything off. And amidst all of this, I will continue writing; somehow, adding more obstacles always increases my resolve to write. In a way, slogging through the writing process during this fantastic little month is a microcosm of what writers do throughout the other eleven months of the year as well. Writing does not take breaks, even during the best and worst of times, and no matter what sorts of demanding expectations end up filling our busy schedules, the people who want to write the most simply find the time, even if it’s not during moments that they would like.

For me, even with all of the fiction that I’ve produced in this tiny window throughout the latter years of my life, I’ve come to an unexpected realization that the majority of my writing has come during hours at the office; as a cubicle jockey, I spend a large majority of my time handcuffed to my seat and staring at a computer screen. Even if I’m paid primarily to do other things with said computer screen, there are convenient lulls in the day that allow me to write whatever it is that I want. Beggars can’t be choosers, and somehow, I’ve come to write so comfortably in this setting that trying to write outside of those confines seems confusingly difficult.

Will that be the same this time around? I’m in a wonderful relationship that will soon be a wonderful marriage, and I’m looking forward to how the new schedule constraints that pop up as a result of getting married will allow me to flourish even further in my productivity. At this point, I’ve come to accept that the busier I am, the more productive I am. Combined with the immense inspiration that comes from having such unyielding support from a partner like Emily, perhaps it’s the time that she demands that will benefit me the most.

This will be the first year that I will be participating in NaNoWriMo while in such an advanced stage in a relationship. I’ve scheduled a week off this coming November to visit my fiancée so that we can get married. While I imagine that I will have plenty of time to write while Emily is at work, the majority of my production will definitely come in the weeks leading up to my visit. Maybe this is a way for me to distract myself and not get needlessly worried about the upcoming trip, but I certainly will make do with what I have.

And what I have is a woman who wants to spend the rest of her life with me, and a bit of spare time to write as much as I can when she’s not around. Those are the best luxuries for me to have. NaNoWriMo can’t come soon enough!

Loving writing all the time.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in NaNoWriMo
2 comments on “Finding Time for NaNoWriMo and Everything Else
  1. thecrackedchronicles says:

    Thanks for stopping by The Cracked Chronicles! I’m also worried about juggling everything in November in order to make enough time to write. It’s wonderful to have great, supportive people in your life but they also take up a lot of time 🙂 All the best to you!

    • Erick Rand says:

      All the best to you and yours as well. The idea is that NaNoWriMo is supposed to be difficult. If it isn’t, then one simply isn’t pushing themselves hard enough 🙂

Leave a Reply

